

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 16, 2019. Members of the first place team included: Maddy McKeag, Carissa Vanzee, Mikayla Henry, and Madelyn DeJong. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Indianapolis, Indiana, in October. The Wapello FFA Chapter from Wapello was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Jacob Ewart, Bryant Lanz, and Brantly Palmer. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mrs. Danielle Wolfe. Maddy McKeag, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The West Liberty FFA Chapter from West Liberty was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 85 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 311 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from GROWMARK and the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test with assistance from Dr. Georgeane Artz, Assistant Professor of Economics.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Wapello FFA, Wapello
- 3 Northeast FFA, Goose Lake
- 4 Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi
- 5 West Lyon FFA, Inwood
- 6 Hawkeye FFA, West Bend
- 7 Newton FFA, Newton
- 8 Osage FFA, Osage
- 9 Clay Central/Everly FFA, Everly
- 10 Cascade FFA

Top 10 Individuals

Maddy McKeag, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Jacob Ewart, Wapello FFA, Wapello Bryant Lanz, Wapello FFA, Wapello Mason Kruse, Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi Mikayla Henry, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Carissa Vanzee, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Brantly Palmer, Wapello FFA, Wapello Madelyn DeJong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Jaren Rathje, Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Korie Jack, Newton FFA, Newton Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (25)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Wapello FFA, Wapello Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi West Lyon FFA, Inwood Hawkeye FFA, West Bend Newton FFA, Newton Osage FFA, Osage Clay Central/Everly FFA, Everly Cascade FFA Roland-Story FFA, Story City MVAO FFA, Mapleton Monticello FFA, Monticello St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar ACGC FFA Alburnett FFA, Alburnett South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City MMCRU FFA Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully Chariton FFA, Chariton Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union Decorah FFA, Decorah Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah

Bronze Teams (33)

Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Turkey Valley at Jackson Junction Hudson FFA Chapter, Hudson Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg West Marshall FFA, State Center Brokaw FFA, Clarinda West Dubuque FFA, Epworth Kingsley-Pierson FFA, Kingsley Independence FFA Earlham FFA, Earlham Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell Holland FFA, Orange City East Sac FFA, Lake View Panorama FFA, Panora Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Emmetsburg FFA, Emmetsburg Western Christian FFA, Hull Oelwein FFA, Oelwein

Silver Teams (27)

Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis Interstate 35 FFA North Scott FFA at Eldridge West Liberty FFA Harlan FFA, Harlan Estherville FFA, Estherville Algona FFA, Algona Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Creston FFA, Creston West Fork FFA Gilbert FFA Chapter, Gilbert Atlantic FFA, Atlantic Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Unity Christian FFA Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes LeMars FFA Chapter, Le Mars Crestwood FFA, Cresco New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Rock Valley FFA Riverside FFA, Oakland South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson OABCIG FFA Belle Plaine FFA

Tall Corn FFA Chapter Woodward-Granger FFA, Woodward Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids Starmont FFA, Arlington Agri-Power FFA, Eddyville East Union FFA, Eddyville East Union FFA, Afton Charles City FFA, Charles City Bedford FFA Pella Christian FFA Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas Nodaway Valley FFA, Greenfield Belmond-Klemme FFA, Belmond Forest City FFA, Forest City Melcher-Dallas FFA West Delaware FFA, Manchester

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,400 student members as part of 242 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.